The aMAZEing Labyrinth – An educational and home game.

20130727_202706       20130727_202841

Thrift store games are my favorite. You never know what you will find. You never know why it was donated or what conversation/life problems were solved as a group of people challenged each other’s skills.  I walk in with the excuse of looking for a new game for my class but usually end up keeping some of the  games at home.

My latest ninety-nine cent, steal is The aMAZEing Labyrinth.  The game is made up of twenty-four maze tiles and twenty playing cards.  The game is played by inserting an extra tile into the maze board and there-by shifting the maze board to allow your piece to move through the maze to the object pictures on playing card.  Younger children can be given a set number of cards and attempt to reach their objects in any order they wish.

Mazes are an excellent learning tool. Using a changing maze as a game board is brilliant. Mazes teach strategy, planning and patience. The player has to think and then act.  A plan is made and then an opposing player messes up the plan.  oh, no!  Flexibility is an important skill.  This game, as it is a visual maze, requires complex visual spatial skills. The player has to visually track the maze paths which are ever-changing.  Which move of the Maze (ie your inserting a maze tile) will help one get to the desired tile faster?  😀  So much educational value all wrapped up in a game of strategy.

Have you found a game you recently loved?  Please share..

The Amazing Labyrinth was an instant success with my family and with the kids at school.  I have already gotten my ninety-nine cents of entertainment out of this game!  I plan on using it for years to come.

2 thoughts on “The aMAZEing Labyrinth – An educational and home game.

  1. I have actually played this game before, not to long ago either. Our public library hosts a board game day every Saturday because the head librarian is a board game geek and she brings a bunch of her own games, this was one of them. My friend and I played it, it was pretty fun I thought, thank you for reminding me of it, I will have to add it my wishlist on Board Game Geek and put in a request on the thrifting lists for it. My kids would love this game.

    http://jackofallgeek.com/

Leave a Reply

