Can my child get a job and keep or still get disability benefits?

Can a person, with a disability, work and still receive benefits?

This is the question I have asked for a few month now. It seems it is possible. Yet, it seems only possible, if you understand all the complicated criteria and restrictions.  I recently contacted a local social worker for assistance and she sent me the following information.   Thanks Charla

Charla referred me to: The Red Book from Social Security. It can be download at the following site: http://ssa.gov/redbook/. I have hard copy of this book. Its complicated…..

A second place I was referred to is Imagine Enterprise. They have what is called a Work Incentive Benefits Coordinator. The program is located out of Mesquite Texas. I contacted Imagine Enterprise and learned the following: “When Mel turns 18, the parental income will no longer prohibit her from receiving social security benefits. The work incentives program, with Social Security, has a student clause which allows them to make a small income without it touching their benefits at all!” This seems like a program Mel needs to stay in touch with.

I also was directed to DARS. Mel is already involved with DARS. So far, my DARS experiences have been very positive. Our Next DARS meeting is in early Oct. As Mel will be 18 in early 2014, I have lots of questions about college, work and life after high school. My fingers are crossed.  Any Suggestions from you guys?

It was also recommended I contact the disability offices at any college Mel is interested in attending. The recommendation was to visit the disability office…. “visit just as a high school student visits colleges to determine where they want to go. This is one of the most important places to check out when choosing colleges. At the meeting, Mel needs to be ‘driver’ of the meeting and have questions including what services typically look like, and what documentation is needed for various services.”

It was also recommend I contact Social Security and request information about waivers.  I am to ask about what the qualifications are for each program. The  following website has information. http://www.ssa.gov. I dislike government web sites. I like to talk to real people. Yes, I will be flexible.

One social security program I have heard about from several sources is the Ticket To Work Program. This program is designed to help Social Security beneficiaries go to work, get a good job that may lead to a career, save more money, and become financially independent, all while they keep their health coverage. Ticket to Work is a free and voluntary program that gives beneficiaries  choices that can help them create and lead better lives. Individuals who receive Social Security benefits because of a disability probably already qualify for the program. The website. http://www.ssa.gov/work/

So far I have been told, “People with SSI/SSDI benefits are able to work and keep their benefits but there are limitations as to how much a person can earn and keep their monetary benefits. There are waivers available and an personal attendant could be counted as a work expense. Individuals interested need to contact their SSI/SSDI case worker“.  Mel will not need an attendant but I felt it was good information.

It seems like I have a lot of learning to do.

Anyone have recommendation or ideas not listed?

I would love information from someone who as  recently gone through the process.

4 thoughts on “Can my child get a job and keep or still get disability benefits?

  1. I have also heard the above statement “So far I have been told, “People with SSI/SSDI benefits are able to work and keep their benefits but there are limitations as to how much a person can earn and keep their monetary benefits. There are waivers available and an personal attendant could be counted as a work expense. Individuals interested need to contact their SSI/SSDI case worker“.

    I was a Case Manager for the Office of Intellectual Disabilities in Pennsylvania (many years ago). People receiving disability benefits could utilize a “job coach” and if paid for privately, this would reduce their income that SSI/SSDI looked at, and can help people maintain their benefits.

    While I understand your dislike of gov websites, you might want to look at http://www.usa.gov/Citizen/Topics/Government-Jobs.shtml and go to the left and click on People With Disabilities. Another link is http://www.opm.gov/policy-data-oversight/disability-employment/

    It’s not necessarily dealing with disability and benefits but it is a resource for future employment.

    The federal government is pro-active in creating a diverse work population.

    Hope some of this helps. All best in your endeavors.

  2. There’s also a term called Working Healthy where they can continue to receive health benefits. It’s good to know what the rules are about keeping one’s SSI benefits, though if someone is able to make more than $700 a month, they’re able to have a much better lifestyle, so in my mind the goal is not necessarily to keep benefits but to have financial security, whether it’s steady, reliable full time employment or a part-time job to supplement SSI. There is also an Employment First movement, stressing the value and importance of employing persons with disabilities. Employment increase self esteem and helps all citizens to feel included. Isn’t that what we all want?

  3. There’s also a term called Working Healthy where they can continue to receive health benefits. It’s good to know what the rules are about keeping one’s SSI benefits, though if someone is able to make more than $700 a month, they’re able to have a much better lifestyle, so in my mind the goal is not necessarily to keep benefits but to have financial security, whether it’s steady, reliable full time employment or a part-time job to supplement SSI. There is also an Employment First movement, stressing the value and importance of employing persons with disabilities. Employment increase self esteem and helps all citizens to feel included. Isn’t that what we all want? http://www.smartsteps4me.com

  4. I just like the helpful info you provide on your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and take a look at once more right here frequently.

    I am quite certain I’ll learn plenty of new stuff proper here!
    Best of luck for the following!

Leave a Reply

