Mel’s First PIZZA

Cooking has so many benefits; however, it is one activity Mel has never been pushed to explore. In her 18 years, Mel has only assisted in the kitchen a few dozen times. When told just to go make something for herself, she puts little effort into food selections. Breakfast waffles, Granola bars, a peanut butter sandwich, chips, snack foods have been her choice when independence is prompted.

As I think about and strive towards getting Mel ready to move out on her own, I know this is an area I need to put an emphasis on. I have always been one to pick my battles. And honestly, to stall and drag my feet if things do not excite me. Sometimes it is just easier to do things yourself. I now have to accept the consequences.

In the past, time restraints and Mel’s short stature have made cooking easier to just do myself. She is too short to cook on our stove top and does not have the balance skills to remove a hot tray from the oven. Mel moves slowly and when it is time to cook, I admit, I want to cook and eat. Not teach. A kitchen redo was a plan that never happened. Time does sometimes get away from you.

Last week, I saw a convection oven at a garage sale for $15. I have been thinking about getting a convection oven for years but the cost, and the counter space; well, let’s just say that was two strikes against the plan. As Mel is 18, I knew the time for excuses has expired. I searcher my purse and guess what, I had $15 dollars to spare.

The result…….Mel’s first PIZZA

.Image

2 thoughts on “Mel’s First PIZZA

  1. I’m truly enjoying the esign and layout of your site.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more
    enjoyable forr me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire
    out a designer to create your theme? Outstanding
    work!

Leave a Reply

